Ceramide Moisturisers Compared: Formulas, Texture and Value

Created using AI; curated by Glow Protocol. AI tools support research, product comparisons and writing. Our recommendations are editorial selections. How we work.

The best ceramide moisturiser for you depends on the formula you want to use. Start with CeraVe Moisturizing Cream for a face-and-body cream without listed niacinamide, CeraVe PM for a facial lotion with niacinamide, or Toleriane Double Repair for a facial cream with niacinamide. Aestura Atobarrier365 adds a capsule-format option. These are curated choices based on manufacturer information, not a ranking from hands-on tests.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Glow Protocol may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Purchase links below identify the retailer.

How we chose these products

We checked the manufacturer ingredient lists and product descriptions on 27 September 2026. Our shortlist separates practical choices by intended area, format and listed ingredients. We considered fragrance and essential oils, variant confusion and whether concentrations were actually disclosed.

Most sources are US manufacturer pages; Aestura is the international second-generation cream. Retailer stock and regional formulas can differ. Descriptions such as “lightweight” come from the brands. We have not tested absorption, pilling, comfort or clinical performance, and ingredient lists cannot settle those questions. Our recommendations are editorial judgments about formula fit.

We corrected earlier classifications in this guide: five products below do not list ceramides in the formulas checked. SkinCeuticals’ disclosed ratio is also now shown accurately. Manufacturer sources appear beside the relevant products.

Unbranded cream being spread on a hand in warm light

Compare the four main choices

CeraVe Moisturizing Cream: one cream for face and body

Consider this if you want a cream for both areas and prefer a formula without niacinamide. The US list includes ceramides NP, AP and EOP alongside petrolatum, glycerin, dimethicone, cholesterol and sodium hyaluronate. CeraVe describes it as a rich, fragrance-free cream for normal-to-dry skin.

Trade-off: a rich cream may not match your preference for a lighter facial product. Three ceramides do not prove it performs better than a formula with one, and the brand does not disclose their concentration here.

Manufacturer formula and product information

Compare CeraVe Cream on Amazon →

CeraVe PM: a facial lotion with niacinamide

Consider PM if you prefer a facial night lotion. Its checked US formula includes niacinamide and ceramides NP, AP and EOP, plus glycerin, dimethicone, cholesterol and sodium hyaluronate. CeraVe describes it as lightweight, oil-free and free of added fragrance.

Trade-off: skip this option if you already know you do not tolerate niacinamide. Neither its ceramide nor niacinamide percentage is disclosed on the reviewed page. PM is a different formula from Moisturizing Cream and Daily Moisturizing Lotion.

Manufacturer formula and product information

Compare CeraVe PM on Amazon →

For the naming differences, see our CeraVe PM vs Daily Lotion comparison.

Toleriane Double Repair: another facial cream option

The plain US Double Repair formula lists ceramide NP, niacinamide, glycerin, squalane and dimethicone. La Roche-Posay describes it as a lightweight, fragrance-free cream, with directions for morning and/or evening use on the face and neck.

Trade-off: its ceramide and niacinamide concentrations are undisclosed. The Matte and UV SPF 30 products are different versions. Do not use their ingredient lists to decide whether this one fits your preferences.

Manufacturer formula and product information

Compare Double Repair on Amazon →

Aestura Atobarrier365: compare the capsule formulation

The international second-generation cream lists ceramide NP, cholesterol, squalane, niacinamide, glycerin and fatty acids. Its displayed list does not include parfum. Aestura describes capsules that soften during application.

Trade-off: capsules are a formulation feature, not proof of better results than every other cream. The reviewed page does not disclose a ceramide percentage. Match the cream, size and ingredient list at the retailer, especially when buying across markets.

Manufacturer formula and product information

Compare Aestura on Amazon →

Unbranded moisturiser containers on walnut shelves

Three more ceramide options, with specific caveats

You do not need to compare all twelve products to make a useful choice. These additional formulas are worth considering when their particular ingredients or disclosures matter to you.

Dear, Klairs Rich Moist Soothing Cream

The checked list includes ceramide NP, beta-glucan, shea butter and jojoba oil. It also includes several essential oils, including lavender, citrus and eucalyptus oils. That matters if you avoid essential oils. The manufacturer does not disclose a ceramide percentage, so the previous 1.5% figure should not guide a purchase.

Manufacturer formula and product information

View on Amazon →

First Aid Beauty Ultra Repair Cream

The original US formula lists ceramide NP, glycerin, dimethicone, squalane and eucalyptus leaf oil. The separately declared 0.5% active is colloidal oatmeal, not ceramide. A ceramide percentage is not disclosed; the earlier 2% figure was unsupported.

Manufacturer formula and product information

View on Amazon →

SkinCeuticals Triple Lipid Restore 2:4:2

The manufacturer discloses 2% ceramides, 4% cholesterol and 2% fatty acids. It also describes an essential-oil blend of lavender, rosemary and peppermint. Consider it if a disclosed lipid ratio matters to you, while recognising that a percentage alone does not establish superior results. This is not a fragrance-free option.

Manufacturer formula and product information

View at SkinCeuticals →

Five moisturisers that belong outside the ceramide shortlist

These products appeared in the earlier guide. The current manufacturer formulas checked below do not list ceramides. That does not make them poor moisturisers, but it changes the reason to consider them.

See the five non-ceramide alternatives and their product links

Vanicream Moisturizing Cream

The manufacturer explicitly says this cream contains no ceramides. Its petrolatum-based formula is a separate face-and-body option, described as free of fragrance and essential oils. Do not confuse it with Vanicream Daily Facial Moisturizer.

Manufacturer formula and product information · View on Amazon →

Dr.Jart+ Cicapair Sensitive Skin Moisturizer

The current US list includes centella, niacinamide and allantoin, with no listed ceramide. Cicapair and Ceramidin are different ranges.

Manufacturer formula and product information · View on Amazon →

Drunk Elephant Protini Polypeptide Cream

The checked formula lists peptides, amino acids and glycerin, but no ceramides. Consider it as a peptide-focused moisturiser, not a ceramide choice.

Manufacturer formula and product information · View on Amazon →

Charlotte Tilbury Charlotte’s Magic Cream

The current US formula lists glycerin, shea butter, ectoin and fragrance constituents, with no listed ceramide. Older stock may have a different formula; check the package before comparing.

Manufacturer formula and product information · View on Amazon →

ELEMIS Pro-Collagen Marine Cream

The ordinary non-SPF version lists glycerin, dimethicone, algae extracts and fragrance, with no listed ceramide. The SPF, Rose and Ultra-Rich versions are different products.

Manufacturer formula and product information · View on Amazon →

Terracotta pieces and an unbranded cream on linen

A five-point check before buying

  1. Match the exact version. Check the full product name and package ingredient list. A cream, lotion and SPF version from one range can have different formulas.
  2. Choose the ingredients you want to live with. If you already avoid niacinamide, fragrance or particular essential oils, use that preference to narrow the list.
  3. Choose the area and format. A face-and-body cream and a facial night lotion offer different practical uses. Brand texture descriptions are a starting point, not a promise about how a product will feel on you.
  4. Compare the current total cost. Check size, seller, delivery and any import charges. A larger container is useful only if you want that formula and will use it.
  5. Check claims separately from ingredients. More listed ceramides, a higher price or a delivery technology does not by itself demonstrate better results.

For a closer look at format, our CeraVe Cream vs Lotion comparison explains the distinction within one brand. For ingredient roles, see ceramides vs hyaluronic acid.

Using a moisturiser without overcomplicating it

Follow the directions on the product you buy. For dry skin, the American Academy of Dermatology recommends a fragrance-free cream or ointment and applying moisturiser while skin is still damp. If dryness persists despite basic changes, seek a dermatologist’s advice. This guide compares shopping options; it does not diagnose the cause of dryness. Read the AAD’s dry-skin guidance.

Questions before choosing

Do I need a ceramide moisturiser just because I am over 30?

Age alone is not a reason to replace a moisturiser you already like. Our shopping approach starts with your current dryness, format preferences and ingredients you tolerate. This comparison does not establish a universal age at which a ceramide product becomes necessary.

What percentage of ceramides should I look for?

Most products here do not disclose one. SkinCeuticals states 2% ceramides in Triple Lipid Restore, but that does not create a minimum percentage every moisturiser must meet. We cannot rank finished formulas by an undisclosed number or by ingredient-list position.

Does Vanicream Moisturizing Cream contain ceramides?

No, according to Vanicream’s product FAQ. The cream remains a separate moisturiser option. Daily Facial Moisturizer is a different product, so check the full name.

Which option should I compare if I want to avoid niacinamide?

Among the four main choices, the checked US CeraVe Moisturizing Cream list does not include niacinamide. The checked CeraVe PM, Toleriane Double Repair and Aestura formulas do. Always confirm the list on the package you receive.

Is a luxury moisturiser necessarily better?

Price does not establish comparative performance. In this guide, the useful reasons to compare products are disclosed formula differences, intended use, your preferences and current cost. We do not have independent head-to-head testing that establishes a luxury winner.

An unbranded moisturiser jar on green marble

Still comparing? Browse more product comparisons by category.

Formula check: 27 September 2026. Sources are linked beside each product. We use current manufacturer information for composition and attribute brand descriptions; we do not treat those descriptions as independent testing.


Affiliate Disclosure: This post contains affiliate links, which means we may earn a small commission if you make a purchase through these links at no extra cost to you. We only recommend products we've researched and believe offer real value. Our opinions remain our own and are not influenced by any brand or compensation.

Scroll to Top